Ray Prince LaFaye Copeland Phillip Drew Chair-District 2 Vice Chair-District 4 District 5

Sam Kines Holly Murkerson Yancy Maxwell District 3 Interim Administrator District 1



Opportunity Awaits

Special Called Meeting

March 25, 2025 9:00 a.m.

Present for Meeting: Ray Prince, Yancy Maxwell, Phillip Drew, Sam Kines LaFaye Copeland, Katie
Hall, Gabe Ridley, John White, Holly Murkerson.

Meeting was called to order by Ray Prince at 9:00 a.m.

Invocation and Pledge was lead by Phillip Drew.

Motion to adopt agenda was made by Phillp Drew, seconded by LaFaye Copeland.

## **Public Comments**

Michael Cook 184 Carr St, encouraged commission to make sure they made their decision based on qualifications of the job, not by popularity but what is in the best interest of the county.

Rodney Harrison 3683 Lower Hawthorne Trail, spoke to board on behalf of Keith Moye stating he has been on the board and knows all the roads of Grady County, as well as knows what is going on within the county and all of the projects, and feels he could step in tomorrow and get the job done, and has no doubt he could handle the job.

Richard Jordon 303 Jordon Rd; spoke on how the county needs someone new, and this would be the first time to have a female administrator, that voters wanted a change.,

Ray Prince LaFaye Copeland Phillip Drew Chair- District 2 Vice Chair- District 4 District 5

Sam Kines Holly Murkerson Yancy Maxwell
District 3 Interim Administrator District 1

Mike Bishop 1679 Woodridge; stated there are only two choices, one which will lead to a new direction, or the other which would be the same as we're currently in.

#### Discussion

Commissioner Maxwell spoke on Ethics, and how he told the people in his district that he was there to listen to them, and do what is right. He is wanting the administrator to be chosen by experience not by popularity.

Commissioner Kines spoke on how he was there to listen to the people of the county and do what is best. And his vote is based on experience. Also stated that if anyone had any problems with him to be man or woman enough to come to him about it, and do not talk about him on facebook, he will not be intimidated by anyone to change his vote.

Commissioner Drew once again made a motion for Keith Moye to be administrator due to the outpouring of support by community members, that Tyler may meet the requirements of but Keith already knows ALL about Grady County, and he feels like he would do a great job in that position.

Chair Ray Prince reiterated the motion for Keith Moye, as he has worked with him during the 8 years Keith was on the board, and due to issues with other candidates from previous work experiences. Prince also stated he will work with whomever takes the position for the better of the county.

Commissioner Copeland stated she had help making her decision after listening to the speakers from the March 18, 2025 meeting which showed a lot of support for Keith Moye, but feels all those speakers were basing their opinions off of friendships and not by work ethics.

#### Formal Action

The motion to elect Keith Moye was made by Phillip Drew, Seconded by Ray Prince. Call for all in favor, which Kines, Maxwell and Copeland denied.

The motion to elect Celeste Tyler was made by Sam Kines, seconded by by Copeland and Maxwell. Call for all in favor, Phillip and Prince denied motion, but vote was 3/2 vote with Celeste Tyler being named County Administrator.

Ray Prince LaFaye Copeland Phillip Drew Chair- District 2 Vice Chair- District 4 District 5

Sam Kines Holly Murkerson Yancy Maxwell
District 3 Interim Administrator District 1

Motion to adjourn meeting was made by Phillip Drew, seconded by LaFaye Copeland. All in favor. Meeting was adjourned at 9:34 a.m. Meeting Agenda: Call to Order- 9:00AM Invocation/Pledge Adoption of Agenda **Public Comments** Formal Actions Adjournment Ray Prince, CHAIR LaFaye Copeland, VICE-CHAIR ATTEST: Yancey Maxwell, COMMISSIONER Katie Hall ,County Clerk

Sam Kines, COMMISSIONER

Ray Prince LaFaye Copeland Phillip Drew Chair- District 2 Vice Chair- District 4 District 5

Sam Kines Holly Murkerson Yancy Maxwell
District 3 Interim Administrator District 1

\_\_\_\_\_

Phillip Drew, COMMISSIONER